Calongbuyan Sangguniang Kabataan Chairperson Emil Grace Cortado was elected unopposed federated President of Sangguniang Kabataan of the City.

Other elected federated officials were Jonnalyn Awingan (Cubcubbuot) as Vice President, Julie Ann Azur (Paypayad) as secretary and Centenario Razo (Tamurong 2nd) as treasurer.

The other elected officials were Lord Sean Lopez (Oaig Daya) as auditor, Jessrael Ayunto (Bagani Ubbog) as Public Relations Officer and Jeoffrey Andallo (San Nicolas) as sergeant at arms.

The election was held at Sacred Heart Savings Coop Business Center.

The SK election is the first implementation the R.A. 10742 (An act establishing reforms in the Sangguniang Kabataan creating enabling mechanisms for meaningful youth participation in national building, and for other purposes) otherwise known as “Sangguniang Kabataan Reform Act of 2015”

It is also the first enforcement of its anti-dynasty provision which states that an SK candidate “must not be related within the second civil degree of consanguinity or affinity to any incumbent elected national official or to any incumbent elected regional, provincial, city, municipal, or barangay official, in the locality where he or she seeks to be elected, and must not have been convicted by final judgment of any crime involving moral turpitude.”

The SK federated president under the said law shall be the chairperson of the Committee on Youth and Sports Development in the city council and a regular member of the Committees on Education, Environment, Employment and Livelihood, Health and Anti-Drug Abuse, and Gender and Development,

She shall serve as ex officio member of Local School Board, Local Council for the Protection of Children Local Development Council, Local Health Board Local Tourism Council and Local Peace and Order Council, and

Cortado shall also convene the LYDC every three (3) months to conduct consultations with youth organizations.

She is expected to participate in her first Sangguniang Panlungsod session on July 4.

Based on the City Election office data, there were 310 elected SK officials.

Right Sidebar

Go to widget Settings Page and add content to Left Sidebar Widget.